Pitch and Outline

Coming up with ideas for a short movie is not as easy as it seems, especially when your story must be based on some premises. In my case the two premises were: There is a hammering on a door, it opens to reveal a dishevelled breathless person, why? How did they get this way… and: There is a hammering on a door, why? Dare the door be opened? If so what is revealed….

I choose the first premise because it seemed more easier to build a story based on this idea. I cannot say that the pitch was a very hard thing to do. But I can say that you need some time in order to think exactly how your movie should be,  and you should also think at a lot of options and ideas before picking the right one for you. The idea didn’t came suddenly. Like I said its a matter of time. I have started to think at different ideas while I was eating, taking a shower, walking and so on. I started to have an idea about what’s going to happen in my film, but I didn’t knew exactly how to develop it.

In order to make the pitch, I should have had in consideration also the outline. I knew that  I want the story to be connected with cops and crime scenes, and I also knew that this is quite a common idea. I thought that most movies have a happy ending, and I thought that it will be interesting if mine doesn’t have  such an end,  so I came with this idea: A cop chases the mob and he ends up being their prey. I started to think at a story based on this idea, I’ve started to write the bare bones of the story down on a paper, and after 2 or 3 days of modifying the outline I’ve finally finished it. All the ideas were mixed in my had, so I decided to put the outline away for another 2 days. When I read it again I immediately noticed the mistakes and I corrected them. I had to be careful also in engaging all the important characters in the story, and I had to highlight the conflicts and the relationships.

 

First idea.

A man killed by two robbers ends up in front of a stranger’s  house. This is the cruel reality that we live

Second idea

Pitch

A cop chases the mob and he ends up being their prey.

Outline

When you are a cop everything is different. You cannot say that you have a normal, peaceful life like everyone else. Instead, you can say that you have one of the most dangerous jobs in the world. Everyday you deal with dangerous criminals, with psychopaths and with the MAFIA.

MARK is a cop. He is one of those guys that put their life in risk in order to protect the society. He fights day by day against violence and criminal minds. He managed to put in jail one of the most wanted criminals from the country. But something has changed. The last man that he put in prison is one of the most powerful heads of the MAFIA: ANGEL LAGUERTA. Now the mob is constantly threatening him and his family. They are capable of everything in order to get their member out of jail.

It’s an ordinary Friday evening…MARK is staying with his wife, SARAH, in the living room, watching Television and drinking a glass of wine. Suddenly there is a hammering on the door.  MARK opens the door and finds his sister lying breathless in front of his house.


About adinavlad

Optimist, friendly, communicative...you'll get to know me :)

Posted on October 18, 2010, in Narrative. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

