Producer role

My second TV show, my second production role… This time I choose to be a producer, because I wanted to challenge myself. Being a producer is a big role, because it involves the coordination of the whole show. You are not in charge over a single area, you are responsible for the overall quality and survivability of the show.

The thing that overwhelmed me as a producer, was the fact that I was engaged in the whole stages of production: screenwriting, directing, music, editing, set. So in order to undertake all this roles at a professional level, I have to learn how to work under pressure, I have to be able to act decisively and more important I have to be a good communicator.

I think that the most appealing thing at being a producer is its random nature and  countless challenges. A good producer can handle numerous tasks, demands and questions in the same time. You have to be ambitious, persevering, creative, open minded, flexible but in the same time you also have to know how to approach business problems in a profitable way.

 Though , as a producer you have a huge advantage:  you don’t have to be the best in directing, editing, filming etc., but you must know who are the best people to hire for this jobs. You need to be really creative, but you don’t need to know all the technical aspects. This makes this role so appealing, in my opinion.

With all its aspects, it is clear that a producer’s job demands responsibility and hard work. I think that is amazing to know that you have successfully accomplished a project, at which you’ve worked from conception to completion.

I think that one of the keys of being a successful producer is to enjoy the whole process.

“These digital cameras now? People can make a show – make a movie. That’s what I like. The industry is just so hard to get into, you know, unless you have a lot of money. Now, people that have an idea of some kind of media that they want to share can put things on Youtube- the sky’s the limit now. It’s wide open for people to be as creative as they can possibly be. ” (Kellison, 2005: 225)

Research:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Television_producer

http://www.skillset.org/tv/jobs/production/article_5479_1.asp

http://www.mediacollege.com/employment/television/producer.html

http://www.prospects.ac.uk/television_film_video_producer_job_description.htm

https://nextstep.direct.gov.uk/PlanningYourCareer/JobProfiles/JobProfile1352/Pages/default.aspx

http://www.princetonreview.com/Careers.aspx?cid=156

Because it was part of my producer role, here is the risk assessment form and also one of the consent forms:

About adinavlad

Optimist, friendly, communicative...you'll get to know me :)

Posted on November 9, 2011, in 262 MC - Formats Production. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I wanted to thank you for this great read!! I definitely enjoying every little bit of it I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you post…

    Regards:-
    apprenticeships

Leave a Reply

