BBC Big Screen Sports – Taekwondo

Taekwondo was one of my favourites sports that I really wanted to film, not because I particular, but because it is unique due to its combined techniques such as combat, self- defence, exercise, sport and at last but not least meditation and philosophy. In order to film it, we had to travel by train to Berkswell and then we had to walk for almost half an hour until we arrived to Heart of England school, where it was the taekwondo class. Luckily, even if we had to travel all this way, we did not have any problems with carrying the equipment, as we used the 5Z instead of the JVCs which were much more heavier.

When we got there, I was pleasantly surprised to see that most of the trainees were children and not adults. Also, I learned that this sport implies as much mental exercise as physical strength, and these kids really tried to create a boundary between these two key factors. Because the kids were so disciplined, I didn’t had to worry about unpleasant noises or unsuspected screams or laughs. I have to mention, that I do not consider the equipment manager the only responsible of this confusion; my job as a sound operator was to check all the equipment from the very first start, thing that could have prevented this inconvenience. By acting in such way, I consider ourselves responsible for jeopardising the success of this production.  Unfortunately, there was another problem that seemed to be really serious at the beginning – the one who was in charge with the equipment forgot to book a boom mic. In consequence, I had to make use only of the incorporated microphones from the H4N. In order to catch a good volume of the sound, I had to be cleaver and innovative in order to position myself close enough to the subjects, and at the same time to be kept out of the shots.

After all I have to say that this day turned out to be a good one, and a very useful experience, in case that I will have to use the recorder again, without the boom mic. We even received a thanking e-mail from the producer, thing which made me proud about what we achieved. Despite the inconveniences, I was able to adapt to the working conditions  and I managed to focus on my  own role.

Hi,

I would like to thank you and your team for providing us with the opportunity to help with the 2012 olympic scene for coventry.
I’ve no idea how it will all turn out but fingers crossed it will be ok.

Your crew were great, and the interviewer really made it easy for for me, so a very big thank you to her.

If you require any further help please do not hesitate to call or email. Cant wait to see the end result.

Many thanks again.

Robert

About adinavlad

Optimist, friendly, communicative...you'll get to know me :)

Posted on February 7, 2012, in Professional Experience. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

