Iceland 8

Two days before we came back to England, I had the chance to help some of the third year guys with their final project: Latitude, as a sound operator. Me, Adam, Sam and James Dove headed to a waterfall where they were planning to film some parts for their movie.

We had some issues regarding the sound equipment, because we forgot to bring the headphones, so I had to record the sound just based on my intuition and previous experience. It was the first time when I was put in this situation, and I didn’t want to disappoint them. So based on what I knew, or even better –  based on what Bex learned me I just had to pay attention at the volume levels. The key is to keep those levels at -12; by doing this you can be sure that your recording will sound good.

This time I was more relaxed than at the previous shoots; first of all because I saw the the third year guys adopted a more comfortable attitude, – a stress -less one I could say -, and second of all because I was more confident in my own strengths. Here was the last time when I practiced my role as a sound operator. I enjoyed doing this, and I found it quite an easy job to do after you get used with all the settings and all the problems that might occur, and I barely wait to try new other roles, in order to develop more and more skills that will definitely be helpful in the future.

About adinavlad

Optimist, friendly, communicative...you'll get to know me :)

Posted on April 19, 2012, in Professional Experience. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

